CBA elects new council

| 26/02/2015 | 0 Comments

(CNS Business): A new council has been elected for the Caymanian Bar Association. Abraham Thoppil was returned as President when members elected the 2015 council during the recent annual general meeting. Outgoing Vice President Brett Basdeo was succeeded by Nick Rogers. Neil Timms QC also returned as Treasurer, and Nick Joseph was elected for the spot as the council’s Secretary.

Returning Council members Anna Goubault and Stephen Walter are joined by newly elected Erik Bodden, Nikhil Jha, Ridhiima Kapoor and Alison Maxwell.

“The new council has 10 members representing 7 different law firms/sole practitioners on the island,” Mr Thoppil said.  “It is hoped that this diversity will better reflect the ever growing Caymanian legal fraternity, and we look forward to working together this year with members of the CBA, the Cayman Islands Law Society and other stakeholders in our endeavour to progress the legal industry of the Cayman Islands,” he said.

“We would also like to thank Brett Basdeo, Dale Crowley, Sharon Roulstone and Sophia Scott for their hard work and dedication over the past year and look forward to their continued involvement with the CBA,” Thoppil stated.

The Caymanian Bar Association was established in 1988 after senior Caymanian attorneys perceived the need for an organisation to address issues of particular relevance to Caymanian attorneys and effectively to represent the views of Caymanian attorneys who were, and are, a minority in the profession in the Cayman Islands.

To that end all Caymanians, as defined in the Immigration law (2014 Revision), who are admitted to practise as an attorney in the Cayman Islands and possess a current practising certificate, are eligible to be members of the CBA.

Most Caymanian attorneys who are eligible have joined the CBA, and the organisation currently represents the interests of around 200 Caymanian attorneys.  The CBA also has a Student Chapter with around 100 honorary student members comprised of Caymanian law students and articled clerks.

CNS Business

CBA Council: (front L-R) Ridhiima Kapoor, Nick Joseph, Abraham Thoppil, Anna Goubault, Stephen Watler (back L-R) Alison Maxwell, Nick Rogers, Neil Timms QC, Erik Bodden, Nikhil Jha)


Category: Uncategorized

Please include your email address in the form below if you are using your real name. You can use a pseudonym, with or without leaving an email address, or just leave the form blank to be "Anonymous". All comments will be moderated before they are published. The CNS Comment Policy is at the top of this page.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.