Photo of the Remarkables mountain range in Queenstown, New Zealand.


The Cayman Islands is a dependent territory of the United Kingdom and Britain appoints a representative to oversee the government. The government of the Cayman Islands follows the Westminster system, whereby the leader of the party which gains the most seats in a general election assumes the controlling position of Cabinet — the premier of the Cayman Islands.