Photo of the Remarkables mountain range in Queenstown, New Zealand.

Tourist sector hoping for more growth in 2016

| 25/04/2016 | 0 Comments
CNS Business

CITA President Ken Hydes

(CNS): Elected for the third year in a row to serve as the Cayman Islands Tourism Association president, Kenneth Hydes from Dart Realty (Cayman) told members at the recent AGM that the industry was expecting “significant growth” in the tourism sector this year. The AGM last week included the election of directors and executives for the next year, with most of the existing post holders retaining their seats on the board, and a roundup of the year’s events. Hydes, however, pointed to the year ahead and the need for residents to embrace the growth.

“CITA will look for opportunities to support this momentum while maintaining the high standards we have achieved to date,” he said. “True partnership with the public sector is at an all-time high and we intend to maintain that this year. Of paramount importance is the need for residents to embrace this growth for career and business opportunities that are truly dynamic.”

Vice President Theresa Leacock-Broderick said she was impressed with the talent and passion in both the private and public sectors of the tourism industry. “I’m grateful for the investment of industry stakeholders from our corporate and individual property owners to the small business entrepreneurs and operators, who work tirelessly to deliver world class services with our unique ‘CaymanKindness,” she said.

Tiffany Dixon Ebanks, the Executive Director of CITA said she was looking forward to working with Hydes and Leacock-Broderick again and said the 15 individuals elected to the board were a strong group that brought “varied and experienced backgrounds, which will lend well to the mandate of CITA”.

Tim Adam and Nigel Mitten were the only two outgoing directors, with David Carmichael and Matthew Bishop elected to transport and land based attractions respectively. Bishop said he was looking forward to working with all industry stakeholders, while Carmichael said he was hoping to add more value to the tourism product.

Results of the elections at CITA’s AGM

The Cayman Islands Tourism Association (CITA) held its Annual General Meeting (AGM) at The Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort on Wednesday 20 April when the following Executives and Board of Directors were elected:

President – Kenneth Hydes – Dart Realty (Cayman) Ltd.

Vice President – Theresa Leacock-Broderick – Plantana Condominiums

Secretary – Joanna Boxall- Acorn Publishing

Treasurer – Brian Krug- Budget/Apex Rental Car

Immediate Past President – Harry Lalli – Treasure Island


CITA 2016 – 2017 Board of Directors

Ken Hydes (Dart Realty (Cayman) Ltd)/President (Serving two years*)

Joanna Boxall (Acorn Publishing) / Secretary
Matthew Bishop (Active Capital) (Serving two years*)

Theresa Broderick (Plantana Condominiums) / Vice President
Gaetan Babin (The Wyndham Reef Resort)

Marc Langevin (The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman)
Danielle Wolfe (Caribbean Club)

Brian Krug (Apex/Budget Rent A Car) / Treasurer
David Carmichael (Caribbean Marine Services) (Serving two years*)

Julie Allen (Rackam’s Waterfront Bar and Grill)
Steve Shienfield (JLC Holdings: Duke’s, Mizu, Waterfront Restaurants (Serving two years*)

Ash McKnight (Go Pro Diving)
Keith Sahm (Sunset Divers/Sunset House)

Neil van Niekerk (Southern Cross Club) – appointed by the Sister Islands Tourism Association.

Harry Lalli (Cay Direct)

Note: * – Four Board Members with the highest number votes will serve a two year term for continuity and consistency on the board.

Tags: ,

Category: Tourism

Please include your email address in the form below if you are using your real name. You can use a pseudonym, with or without leaving an email address, or just leave the form blank to be "Anonymous". All comments will be moderated before they are published. The CNS Comment Policy is at the top of this page.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.